SECTION 1: GENERAL INFORMATION

Creighton University: A Brief History

Edward and Mary Lucretia Creighton, along with Edward's brother John settled in Omaha in the mid-1850s. John married Mary Lucretia's sister Sarah Emily Wareham in 1868 and the four are considered the founders of Creighton University. Edward's work with the transcontinental telegraph and freighting, ranching, railroading and banking became a major force in the city's economic development. The two brothers were widely known for their business enterprises and the two couples were equally widely regarded for their philanthropy.

Edward died in 1874 and his widow included \$100,000 in her will to establish Creighton College in memory of her husband. Mary Lucretia died in 1876 and her executors, who included her brother-in-law, John, purchased 6.2 acres of land at the northwest corner of what is currently 24th and California streets. They began to build a school and transferred the land, building and additional securities to Bishop James O'Connor of Omaha.

The bishop asked the Jesuits to operate the school and the first president, Roman A. Shaffel, S.J., arrived in Omaha in late 1877; the school opened on Sept. 2, 1878. One priest, three scholastics, a layman and a laywoman formed the faculty. The school began with 120 students ranging in age from 6 to 30. On Aug. 14, 1879, Bishop O'Connor surrendered his trust to the Jesuits, who incorporated "The Creighton University" under Nebraska law. Much of the initial teaching was secondary-level; in 1891, the first baccalaureate degree was awarded.

Edward and Mary Lucretia's generosity is credited with establishing Creighton College, while John and Sarah Emily's philanthropy enlarged it to a five-school university. Today, Creighton University consists of nine schools and colleges:

- College of Arts and Sciences (1878)
- School of Medicine (1892)
- School of Law (1904)
- School of Dentistry (1905)
- School of Pharmacy and Health Professions (1905)
- Heider College of Business (1920)
- Graduate School (1926)
- College of Nursing (Four-year bachelor's degree program began in 1958; college established in 1971)
- College of Professional Studies (Established as University College in 1983)